Michèle Weil-Guthmann

PHOTO BIO 1

Contact Michèle Weil-Guthmann

mwg@e-weil.com

Michèle Weil-Guthmann

57 avenue des Ternes
F – 75017 Paris
Mob +33 6 62 55 17 18

96 route de Suisse
CH – 1295 Tannay
Mob +41 79 565 35 95

A French and Swiss national, Michèle Weil-Guthmann has held positions as “Magistrat” at the Ministry of Justice and in several courts. She covered a wide range of areas of law as a judge and in 1998, she became Vice-President at the Paris High Court.

She also served as a diplomat and became the legal advisor of the Permanent Representation of France to the United Nations in Geneva, representing France in many multilateral negotiations, including the work of the UN Compensation Committee on Gulf War (UNCC) set up by the Security Council after the first Gulf War, and in the field of intellectual property.

In 2005, she joined the World Intellectual Property Organization in Geneva and became director of the General Director's Office. In this context, she participated in most policy discussions on intellectual property and the Organization as a whole.

A Honorary Judge since 2010, at the crossing and in the continuity of her previous professional experiences, Michèle Weil-Guthmann chose to practise amicable settlement of disputes as a mediator, and good corporate governance as a certified independent corporation board member. She is now mainly a mediator / arbitrator and trainer.

She practices mediation in France and Switzerland, often serving courts and courts of appeal. She is accredited and practises at the request of many mediation centres, national and international arbitration at the Centre for Mediation and Arbitration of Paris (CMAP), the Institute of Expertise Arbitration and Mediation (IEAM), the National Chamber of Mediation Practitioners (CNPM), the Association of European Mediators (AME); the Swiss Chamber of Commercial Mediation (CSMC), the Arbitration and Mediation Center of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), the ADR Center of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC). She is a Distinguished Fellow of the IAM (International Academy of Mediators) and a sworn mediator in Switzerland (Geneva and Vaud).

She has mediation experience in various areas (business, labour, family, inheritance, partition, intellectual property, international).

She is also the mediator at the Development Bank of the Council of Europe (CEB).

Active in promoting mediation, she is a director of the European Association of Judges for Mediation (GEMME), both at the European and French levels. She was the general secretary of GEMME Europe.

Finally, she is regularly involved as a trainer in educational centres and as a judge or mediator in international mediation competitions.

She works in French and English.

Michèle Weil-Guthmann

PHOTO BIO 1

Contacter Michèle Weil-Guthmann

mwg@e-weil.com

Michèle Weil-Guthmann

57 avenue des Ternes
F – 75017 Paris
Mob +33 6 62 55 17 18

96 route de Suisse
CH – 1295 Tannay
Mob +41 79 565 35 95

Française et Suissesse, Michèle Weil-Guthmann a occupé divers postes de magistrat au ministère de la justice et dans plusieurs juridictions, et couvert un large champ de domaines du droit comme juge jusqu’à 1998, alors vice-présidente au tribunal de grande instance de Paris.

Puis,  diplomate, elle est devenue la conseillère juridique de la représentation permanente de la France auprès des Nations unies à Genève, représentant la France dans de nombreuses négociations multilatérales, notamment les travaux de la commission d’indemnisation de la guerre du Golfe (UNCC) mise en place par le conseil de sécurité après la première guerre du Golfe et dans le domaine de la propriété intellectuelle.

En 2005, elle est entrée à l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle à Genève et est devenue directeur du cabinet du directeur général. Dans ce cadre, elle a participé à la plupart des discussions stratégiques concernant la propriété intellectuelle et l'Organisation dans son ensemble.

Magistrat honoraire depuis 2010, à la croisée et dans la continuité de ses précédentes expériences professionnelles, Michèle Weil-Guthmann a choisi de développer  le règlement amiable des conflits, en tant que médiateur, et la bonne gouvernance d’entreprises, en tant qu’administrateur de sociétés indépendant (ASC). Elle est maintenant principalement médiateur, arbitre et formateur.

Elle pratique la médiation en France et en Suisse, auprès de tribunaux et de cours d’appel, et est accréditée ou a pratiqué auprès de nombreux centres de médiation et d’arbitrage nationaux et internationaux comme le Centre de médiation et d’arbitrage de Paris (CMAP), l’Institut d’expertise d’arbitrage et de médiation (IEAM), la Chambre nationale des praticiens de la médiation (CNPM), l’Association des médiateurs européens (AME), la Chambre suisse de médiation commerciale (CSMC), le Centre d’arbitrage et de médiation de l’Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI), le centre ADR de la Chambre de commerce Internationale (ICC), elle est Fellow de l’IAM (International Academy of Mediators) et médiateur assermentée en Suisse (Genève et Vaud).

Elle a une expérience de la médiation dans des domaines variés (commercial, social, familial, successions et partages, propriété intellectuelle, international…).

Elle est aussi le médiateur de la Banque de développement du Conseil de l’Europe (CEB).

Active dans la promotion de la médiation, elle est administrateur du Groupement européen des magistrats pour la médiation (les deux associations Gemme-France et Gemme-Europe dont elle a été le secrétaire général).

Elle intervient enfin régulièrement comme formateur dans de nombreux centres d’enseignement et comme juge ou médiateur dans des compétitions internationales de médiation.

Elle travaille en français et en anglais.